How do I automatically delete emails from the server?

Why would you delete emails from the server?

The main problem with leaving emails on the mail server is that your daily emails take up necessary storage space required by your website or databases.

To insure that your emails don't consume all of your server storage space, your best option is too have your email client delete the emails that you have already downloaded to your computer automatically.

By following the steps listed below there will be no need for you to clear up old emails from your server any longer.

Below is a list of the steps to follow for the three major versions of outlook.

Outlook Express

  1. Open Outlook Express.
  2. From the Tools menu select Accounts, which will open the accounts window.
  3. Select the Mail tab.
  4. Click on your email account, then click the Properties button on the right.
  5. Select the Advanced tab.
  6. Under the Delivery section: Clear the check box Leave a copy of messages on the server.
  7. Click OK

Outlook 2003

  1. Open Outlook.
  2. From the Tools menu select Email Accounts, which will open the accounts window.
  3. Select change existing email accounts and click Next.
  4. Click on your email account, then click the Properties button on the right.
  5. Select the More Settings.
  6. Click the Advanced tab.
  7. Under the Delivery section: Clear the check box Leave a copy of messages on the server.
  8. Click OK

Outlook 2007

  1. Open Outlook.
  2. From the Tools menu select Email Accounts, which will open the accounts window.
  3. Select change existing email accounts and click Next.
  4. Click on your email account, then click the Properties button on the right.
  5. Select the More Settings.
  6. Click the Advanced tab.
  7. Under the Delivery section: Clear the check box Leave a copy of messages on the server.
  8. Click OK

Outlook 2010/13

  1. Open Outlook
  2. Click on "File"
  3. Click on "Account Settings"
  4. Click on "Account Settings" that appear on the dropdown
  5. Click on "More Settings"
  6. A new window will pop up where you must click on the "Advanced" tab

Apple Mail

  1. After opening the Apple Mail program, click on "Mail" from the menu at the top.
  2. Click on "Preferences".
  3. Click on "Accounts".
  4. If you have more than one mail account, select the one you want to work with.
  5. Click "Advanced".
  6. Make sure the box next to "Remove copy from server after retrieving a message" is checked.
  7. You can also remove messages currently saved on the server by clicking the "Remove now" button.
  8. Click "Save" after you closed the Preference pane.

Mozilla Thunderbird 4.0 and above

  1. In Mozilla Thunderbird, choose "Tools" and then "Account Settings".
  2. Click "Server Settings" listed below the account you want to edit.
  3. Select the "Leave messages on server" option.
  4. Select the "For at most" option.
  5. Enter 7 (or lower) in the box.
  6. Click OK.